Bar 9

“Have you been to Bar 9?”

I’ve been asked this question more times than I can remember, by foodies and casual diners alike. And my answer, sadly, was always ‘no’, unless you count grabbing a quick coffee from the original Bar 9 way back in 2010. The cafe has since moved across the road to premises about five times the size; the Bar 9 I went to a couple of years ago is now a distant memory for most!

When I visited, I can recall having a very good coffee, and noted they served goodies from Let Them Eat for lunch – that’s about it. These days Bar 9 boasts a full kitchen and thus a full brunch menu, as well as being known for serving some of the best coffee in Adelaide.

I finally made it to the “new” Bar 9 this week (though it’s not really new, having opened back in 2011). In fact, I liked it so much that I returned a few days later!

As I entered the cafe, I noticed it was fit out and decorated quite nicely. It still had the same hipster, put-together-at-the-last-minute-but-works-well kind of feel, though on a much larger scale than before. To put it simply, there is plenty to look at as you eat your meal. Aside from the cafe itself, it’s a great place to people-watch.

I considered ordering from the brunch menu but on both occasions I was in a bit of a rush so I opted for one of their piadinas, which I spied being freshly made in the kitchen. The chicken, mushroom and pesto piadina was spot on – piping hot and really flavoursome. Though pesto can sometimes overpower an entire dish, it was the perfect complement to the flavours on offer here. All of the ingredients were clearly fresh and good quality, as it’s hard to get something with such simple ingredients tasting so yummy otherwise!  I also had a taste of the lamb piadina and salami piadina and thought they were equally tasty. The addition of rocket dressed in some kind of lemon infused oil provided a nice side salad as opposed to a boring garnish.The meals were huge too – I struggled to finish mine, and that’s saying something!

Lamb and pinenut piadina

Chicken, mushroom and pesto piadina

In terms of drinks, I’ve tried a latte, iced coffee, and a couple of their summer menu drinks – the magnum (shaken, sweetened espresso) and the ferrari (cafe freddo). I am in no way some kind of coffee expert, but you can tell Bar 9 know what they’re doing. That said – I found my latte perhaps a touch on the weak side. Only a touch. I suppose I do like my coffee stronger than most, so perhaps I would opt for a piccolo latte next time. The iced coffee was quite cute, as it was served in a jar (like a lot of things these days – this must be the new hip thing). It was a good size and the icecream was tasty, but it wasn’t too milky.

As for the slightly more fancy drinks, I enjoyed them but I’m not sure if I would get the same ones again. The cafe freddo was done well, but I was hoping for something slightly more refreshing. The shaken espresso, again, was a great concept but was just too sweet, in my opinion. The great taste was overshadowed by a massive sugar hit as you took a sip.

Iced coffee

Latte

So, after a couple of visits to Bar 9 – will I return again? Definitely! It’s clear this is a gem on this side of town – something a little bit different. They have something good going on, and I like it.

Bar 9: 96 Glen Osmond Rd, Parkside SA

Opening hours: Mon – Fri 7:30-4pm; Sat & Sun 8:30-2pm

Facebook

Twitter

Bar 9 on Urbanspoon

5 thoughts on “Bar 9

Leave a Reply

